

NATIONAL PREVIEW-REVIEW

NATIONAL CHAMPIONS, 1924-1957

For the second time in four seasons the press association polls could not agree on a team as the unofficial national champion for 1957. The Associated Press (writers) named Auburn. The United Press (coaches) picked Ohio State. Ohio State was similarly involved in 1954 when opinion was divided Writers) named Auburn. The United Fress (coacnes) picked Ohio State. Ohio State was similarly involved in 1954 when opinion was divided on the Buckeyes and UCLA. The Associated Press poll of sports writers and the state of the sports writers.

Buckeyes and UCLA. The Associated Press poll of sports writers was originated in 1936 and the United Press poll of college coaches has joined in the fun since 1950. Both polls United Press poil of conege coaches has joined in the run since 1950, Both polls represent the combined opinions of observers in all sections of the country and have

represent the combined opinions of observers in an accelerity of the country and have come to be the most popularly recognized bases for the mythical award. Prior to the polls, the Rissman and Knute Rockne trophies, symbolic of the national title, were awarded annually from 1924 to 1936. The national champions for all 34 years:

-Auburn, Ohio St. 1948-Michigan 1947-1956-Oklahoma -Oklahoma 1955 --Ohio St., UCLA -Maryland 1954 1953-1952-Michigan State 1951-Tennessee 1950-Oklahoma 1949-Notre Dame

-Notre Dame -Notre Dame 1946-1945--Army 1944--Army -Notre Dame 1943-1942-Ohio State 1941--Minnesota 1940-Minnesota

1938-T.C.U. 1937-Pittsburgh 1936-Minnesota 1935-S.M.U. -Minnesota 1934 --Michigan 1933 -1932-Michigan

1931-So. California 1930-Notre Dame 1929-Notre Dame 1928-So. California 1927-Illinois 1926-Stanford 1925-Dartmouth 1924-NotreDame

a la marine

3.

NATIONAL RATINGS, 1936-1957

In a composite picture of the press association polls for the past 22 years, Notre Dame emerges as the No. 1 team. Counting 10 points for each first place rating, 9 for second and so on, the Irish have accumulated 106 points. Oklahoma is second with 82, 27 having been gained in the past three years. The 22-year leaders:

1. Notre Dame .1065. Army2. Oklahoma 826. Ohio Stat3. Michigan 667. Mich. Stat4. Tennessee 628. Minnesota	e 50 10. ate. 49 11.	Georgia Tech.	$36 14. \\ 35 15.$	So. California	25
---	-------------------------	---------------	--------------------	----------------	----

The Southwest Conference is unlikely to produce an outstanding team, but the members may play such sensational football, while cutting one another to pieces, that two or three will be in bowl games. Texas and TCU share the role of pre-season favorite.

Spreading over more territory and embracing more fine teams than any other one region is the South. The three big conferences (Southeastern, Atlantic Coast and Southern) have a combined membership of 30 and annually have multiple challengers for national honors.

No less than five of the 12 SEC members (Auburn, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Georgia Tech and Tennessee) are likely looking candidates for No. 1

Clemson, North Carolina and Duke figure best in the ACC; West Virginia and Virginia Tech in the Southern; Miami among the independents; Louis-ville, Mississippi Southern of the independents; Erank ville, Mississippi Southern and Chattanooga in their echelon. Coach Frank Howard in his 19th year at Clemson is going stronger than ever.

In the East, where emphasis is still on de-emphasis although there has been noticeable reduction of process still on de-emphasis although there has been Syraa noticeable reduction of pressure in some important spots, Pittsburgh, Syra-cuse, Navy, Princeton and Doct in some important spots, Pittsburgh, Syracuse, Navy, Princeton and Dartmouth are the popular favorites to win the Lambert Trophy which appually mouth are the popular favorites to win the Lambert Trophy which annually goes to the champion of the area, regardless of conference affiliation. Perp. States to the champion of the area, regardless of conference affiliation. Penn State, Army, Boston College and Holy Cross

are not without champions for their chances. Coach John Michelosen's Pitt Panthers may make the best showing against le toughest schedule in the section of the may make the best showing against the toughest schedule in the section. Coach Eddie Erdelatz will have four

starters back from Nav The 1957 season and puted national champion most of the honors, bu was on NCAA probat

The Buckeyes made championship going a Texas Christian nippe Oregon, which wasn' in the Rose Bowl befor Auburn had a 10-0 only 28 points, but was

Navy, which spanke of 8-1-1 for the regula

The single game of interest was played at in a 7-0 victory for N the Sooners in 48 gan ing of that unprecede victory. Winning that their young coach, Te

Most successful off underrated, was Ariz scoring with 396 po schedule with a mixt Virginia Military

Conference champion Player of the Year A&M. He was a ur

Heisman Memorial Alex Karras, Iowa all of the All-Ameri

Football Writers and



SCENE STEALER in tumbling bit while the Larscheid. Despite Hi

8